our wee home

musings by michelle

Infants and airport security?

Norah and I are heading to Nebraska to visit my family, and I have no idea what I’m in for at the airport ( and in the airplane) today.  Any tips for flying with a 3-month-old?  My strategies so far include:

  • Checking my luggage.  Even though I fit everything into a carry-on-sized suitcase, I just don’t want to deal with it.
  • Wearing Norah in the Ergo most of the time.  She’s usually pretty happy in there, and can nap well in it.  I’ve even nursed her once in there, so that’s an option.
  • Nursing her during landing, to help her ears pop.
  • My family borrowed a car seat for the weekend, so I won’t have to lug that thing along.  I’ll just be carrying Norah & her diaper bag.
I have no idea what to expect with TSA, so that’ll be a lesson, I guess.

Other than being my first time flying (indeed, traveling) with the babe, this weekend holds a few other firsts:

  • My first Mother’s Day.  =)
  • Norah’s first time meeting her aunt (tia) Tami, her cousin Hunter, great-grandma Eva, and a myriad of great-aunts/uncles/cousins, and other family.
  • Norah’s first time in Nebraska (my hometown is Lincoln).

all smiles

Norah had a good night’s sleep last night, and woke up all smiles this morning.  Surely this is a sign that she’ll be an angel all weekend, right?

Wish me luck with airport security and not being “that woman” with the screaming baby on the airplane…

May 11, 2012 - Posted by | Parenting, Travel | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Babies often have a difficult time clearing their ears as the plane goes up and comes back down and it can be very painful. I would try to nurse or bottle feed her when going up and down. Be sure to go to the TSA site and read the information about liquids and what is allowed in carry ons. Breast milk is OK if you think it might be awkward to nurse her on the plane.

    Good luck, Mom.

    Comment by Kongo | May 11, 2012 | Reply

  2. Good luck! Enjoy your first mother’s day.

    Comment by memyselfandkids | May 11, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

