our wee home

musings by michelle

Every nook and cranny

We have a lot of plants in our wee house.  Twenty-one, in fact, now that I think about it.  I don’t know where we’d put any more, to be truthful.  I was pleasantly surprised when my husband moved in that he brought some plants with him.  We both think they really improve the aesthetic of a place, just making it seem more homey.  It makes me happy when my plants look happy.

When we committed to getting a new energy-efficient washer and dryer before the baby was born, we also abandoned any hope of the new machines fitting in the teensy little closet where our old stackable unit was.  The old unit was perhaps the smallest washer/dryer ever.  We could wash two towels at once in the washer, which was approximately the size of a bucket.  BUT, it did fit in the closet.  Behind a door, even!

When we installed the new machines, they stuck out of the closet.  A LOT.  (P.S. I forgot to mention that the closet is in our kitchen!)  So when I saw a happy little plant hanging on the wall in an ikea container on Pinterest, I thought, “Maybe that would ‘soften’ the edges of the machine a bit…”   A little washer/dryer camouflage, if you will.  Plus, we could squeeze a few more plants into a new nook/cranny in our house.

We got these containers at IKEA and hung them with some 3M/Command hooks.  I will admit that since we took this picture, the bottom container plummeted to its death since apparently the dryer gets really hot on the bottom and the adhesive hook just wouldn’t stay put.  I was able to save most of the plant, though; it has a new home in an old candle jar in the nursery (repurpose, repurpose, repurpose!).

The other major bonus about house plants is that they naturally clean your air.  And our planet can use all the help it can get, right?

So what do you think, is the dryer sufficiently camouflaged?  😉

May 4, 2012 - Posted by | Green living, Home Improvements | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I love it. You’re so clever!

    Comment by Khara Plicanic | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. Dutch houses are tiny, and the washing machine/dryer are usually relegated to the bathroom – I love this idea of brightening up the hulking white machines with some green. Lovely.

    PS. What fun that you’re following along at All Mussed Up! (:

    Comment by Valerie (all mussed up) | May 5, 2012 | Reply

    • Hello Valerie! How fun to have someone in the Netherlands reading my blog! It’s been 3 years since I’ve been to the Netherlands, but I’ll enjoy our virtual connection from here on out… =)

      Comment by michelleindenver | May 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

