our wee home

musings by michelle

Here we go…

  Here I am, at the end of maternity leave.  I had my first baby, a daughter, on February 10, 2012.  Norah.  I was one of those 32-year-olds who realized she couldn’t put off baby-making too much longer.  So my hubby, Matt, and I decided, “ok, let’s give it a shot…”  and BAM, two weeks later we were staring, dumbfounded, at two little pink lines.  Matt was relieved he wouldn’t have to give up his avid bike riding.  Fast-forward nearly a year, and tomorrow I am going back to work full-time.  I’ve spent the last ten weeks staring at and caring for this new little person.  A person everyone says looks just like me.  It’s been the hardest and most amazing work I’ve ever done… so part of me is relieved to be going back to a day job that, let’s just say it, is MUCH easier.  But another part of me is absolutely heartbroken at the fact that someone else gets to spend more time with Norah than I do.  Someone else gets to make her smile, and perhaps witness a lot of her firsts in life.  And I’ll get maybe four hours of her, awake, per day.  So I am cherishing my last weekday afternoon with her, snuggling, and hoping I never forget these moments.


April 23, 2012 - Posted by | Parenting

1 Comment »

  1. I totally understand, we just gave up on that long ago and cut the budget for me to stay home and make it work..its hard for sure, Good luck! 😉

    Comment by SnowBlondie | April 23, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

